OLIVIER KAUFFMANN

Photographer

Born in Casablanca in 1960, Olivier Kauffmann lives in Montpellier and has worked there as a DPLG architect since 1987.

Olivier Kauffmann's photographic work is primarily based on the search for a spot of beautiful colors, monochrome or multicolored, which stands out on a wall.

This search for minimalism, as well as the desire to "penetrate" into the image, induce large formats.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

In second intention, we will see the subject. Mainly the sea (but not only), it is the reflection of his passion for it, passion that the artist tries to transmit if necessary.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

He also works a lot on light: considering that his photo must be interpretative of reality or abstract, we can say that in a certain way, his approach is similar to painting without really wanting it.

"I create a photo using all my know-how: urban planning and the landscape allow me to know and understand the places to be photographed, knowing the weather forecast when sailing allows me to know when to photograph, the scenography learned with Architecture inspires my framing, the computer science learned from the Mac + allows me digital development.

If the format is square, it is because I am an Architect and I only offer 2 sizes: the 50 x 50 cm gives a certain size without being small and there is not much difference up to the 75x75 cm which he can stand alone in a room or compose one of the elements of a diptych or a triptych thus reaching the very large format.

 

I don't have a particular message to convey, I just want to share the pleasure of walking in nature and the pleasure of creating my photos, both in shooting and digital development. I try above all to keep it simple, but I also like to deal with more complex photos. "

Artist news

 

French Monochrome Paper Cup 2020, organized by the French Photography Federation

Olivier Kauffmann's photo "Cala Nans à Cadaqués" is ranked 1st, out of around 1000 photos.

The photo "See Ushant, see his blood" is ranked 2nd in this same competition.

 

May 2020: Completion of the photographic project for the New Saint-Jean Clinic in Montpellier

In 2020, Olivier Kauffamnn was entrusted with the photographic decoration project for the headboards of the 190 rooms of the Nouvelle Clinique Saint-Jean in Montpellier. The order was placed by A + Architecture in charge of the project management, under the direction of the Cap Santé group, owner of the new building. In the end, there are 10 photos reproduced 19 times each, 3m or 5m in length, all taken from his 2018-2019 "Lumières Maritimes en Languedoc-Roussillon" collection which explores the shore from the Camargue to Cap de Creux.

2017: "Thau" from the Lagoon series , nominated by "Black Magazine"

© Nuance-contemporary art gallery 2020. All rights reserved.

© black n white art 2020. All rights reserved.

OLIVIER KAUFFMANN

Photographe

Né en 1960 à Casablanca, Olivier Kauffmann vit à Montpellier et y exerce comme architecte DPLG depuis 1987.

Le travail photographique d'Olivier Kauffmann est fondé, en première intention, sur la recherche d'une tache de belles couleurs, monochromes ou multicolores, qui se détache sur un mur.

Cette recherche du minimalisme, ainsi que la volonté que l'on "pénètre" dans l'image, induisent des grands formats.

En deuxième intention, on verra le sujet. Principalement la mer (mais pas seulement), c'est le reflet de sa passion pour elle, passion que l'artiste essaie de transmettre s'il en est besoin.

Il travaille aussi beaucoup sur la lumière: considérant que sa photo doit être interprétative de la réalité ou abstraite, on peut dire que d'une certaine manière, sa démarche se rapproche de la peinture sans pour autant le vouloir vraiment.

"Je crée une photo à l'aide de tous mes savoir-faire : l'urbanisme et le paysage me permettent de connaître et de comprendre les lieux à photographier, la connaissance de la météo abordée avec la voile me permet de savoir quand photographier, la scénographie apprise avec l'Architecture me souffle mes cadrages, l'informatique apprise depuis le Mac+ me permet le développement numérique.

Si le format est carré, c'est que je suis Architecte et que je propose peu de tailles.

Le 75x75 cm peut s'imposer seul dans une pièce ou composer un des éléments d'un diptyque ou d'un triptyque atteignant ainsi le très grand format.

 

Je n'ai pas de message particulier à faire passer, je veux seulement partager le plaisir de la promenade dans la nature puis le plaisir de la création de mes photos tant à la prise de vue qu'au développement numérique. Je cherche avant-tout à faire simple, mais j'aime bien, aussi, me confronter à des photos plus complexes."

Temps forts

 

Coupe de France Papier Monochrome 2020, organisée par la Fédération Française de Photographie

La photo"Cala Nans à Cadaqués"d'Olivier Kauffmann est classée 1ère, sur 1000 photos environ. 

La photo "Voir Ouessant, voir son sang" est classée 2ème à ce même concours.

 

Mai 2020: Aboutissement du projet photographique pour la Nouvelle Clinique Saint-Jean de Montpellier

En 2020, Olivier Kauffamnn s'est vu confier le projet de décoration photographique des têtes de lit des 190 chambres de la Nouvelle Clinique Saint-Jean à Montpellier. La commande a été passée par A+Architecture en charge de la maîtrise d'oeuvre, sous la direction du groupe Cap Santé, maître d'ouvrage du nouveau bâtiment. Au final, ce sont 10 photos reproduites 19 fois chacune, de 3m ou de 5m de longueur, toutes tirées de sa collection 2018-2019 "Lumières Maritimes en Languedoc-Roussillon" qui explore le rivage depuis la Camargue jusqu'au Cap de Creux. 

2017: "Thau" de la série Lagoon , nominée par la revue "Black Magazine" 

© Nuance-galerie d'art contemporain2020. Tous droits réservés.

© blacknwhite art 2020. Tous droits réservés - Mentions Légales - Référencement WIX ASI